Cheesy roast chicken breast with fig and olive tapanade and asparagus risotto


845
Just two hours before the deadline and I’ve finally got round to completing the 3/1 seasonal challenge launched by Eat my tortes and honey and figs! Find my lunch recipe for melty mozarella and  fig and aubergine rolls here and my ‘breakfast’ fig and almond tartlets here.

seasonal challenge badge-1

For dinner is my take on the old classic: roast chicken breast. I’ve filled mine with some of my favourite cheese, manchego which is best described as a mix between cheddar and port salut. I picked some lovely fresh thyme from our “herb garden”, which is actually more like a complete wilderness of overgrown plants so it takes about 15 minutes to find the herb you are looking for. 

The fig tapanade (a kind of olive paste/dip) was delicious on it’s own, the salty capers and olives combined with the sweet figs made a very tasty combo and me and my brother gobbled a lot of this up with breadsticks (and swapped to authentic italian ryvita and jacobs crackers when the they ran out). 

00

I’ve only ever eaten tapanade with bread before but it worked really well smothered inside the juicy chicken with the creamy manchego cheese. The best thing is it’s so easy to make and keeps for ages so you can make a huge batch and experiment by adding it to pasta sauces, marinading meats in it or dolloping it on pizza. That’s if you can manage not to eat it all at once!

3

832

 

[yumprint-recipe id=’13’]

One thought on “Cheesy roast chicken breast with fig and olive tapanade and asparagus risotto

  1. Pingback: 3/1 SEASONAL CHALLENGE OCTOBER INGREDIENT + SEPTEMBER CHALLENGE ROUNDUP | Everyday Feasts

Leave a Reply

