Cheesy sweet potato bake

CheesesaucelongveiwWow isn’t January going so s-l-o-w-l-y? I swear I can feel the time just crawling by! I my only University exam  of the year on Friday (catalytic reaction engineering -_-) which probably didn’t help much, maybe things will now go whizzing all the way to sunshine, long days and barbecues.

It was quite strange going back to University after I’ve been working on my placement for 6 months. For a start I forgot how much you walk around as a student. Now days i’m at my desk most of the time so my feet were very sore after pounding the streets of Manchester all weekend. It also reminded me of all the burden of University exams which creep in and rule your life for 6 weeks every year- that’s one thing I can safely say I am not missing about University! However even though I’m living at my family home every time I go back to Manchester I still get that feeling that I’m returning to a home of sorts, somewhere that I have become part of and that has certainly influenced me. It’s an amazing city especially for music lovers and as a southerner who had barely been North of London before the age of 19 I am happy to admit that people really are friendlier up North :).

cheesesauce

ANYWAY In dire need of some winter cheer I cooked up this very bright and happy sweet potato bake  this week end (kinda looks like a sun no?) I think it has actually improved my mood mainly because it includes my favourite cheese sauce. 

Ever since I learnt to make a cheese sauce I’ve been smothering everything in it. This time I’ve chosen a load of veggies to subject to the molten layer of cheesiness. I love this recipe because it’s very easy and full of goodness, it’s great for if you have to serve a big group of people but want minimum fuss and it’s meat free so everyone should be happy. There is a lovely layer of filling butter beans on the bottom topped with some fresh spinach and sauteed leeks in a rich cheesy sauce and to top it all off a fluffy layer of sweet potato and cracked black pepper. SO yum SO healthy…so can it be summer now?

cheesesauce3

 

[yumprint-recipe id=’25’] 

13 thoughts on “Cheesy sweet potato bake

  1. Oh I love the sweet potatoes in here – I am on such a kick with them right now! And the cheesy sauce doesn’t hurt either : ) This sounds so perfect and comforting for the cold weather we’ve been having!

Leave a Reply

